Robber’s Roost Motel Reviews

Trip Advisor Reviewer, Robber's Roost Motel Hazelton BC

Amazingly kind, great accommodations!!

We arrived in New Hazelton after a motor vehicle accident. Linda, and the guy that cuts the lawn LOL, provided us a great room, accommodated our dog, and treated us like family! Helped us get home, TY

Room Tip—They also have kitchenette rooms, fantastic view of the mountains, good restaurant and great family park across the parking lot and road. Old Hazelton is also a must see, Linda can tell you how to get there.

suespun
Edmonton AB

Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC
5.0
2015-02-25T00:11:29+00:00

suespun
Edmonton AB

Trip Advisor Reviewer, Robber's Roost Motel Hazelton BC

We arrived in New Hazelton after a motor vehicle accident. Linda, and the guy that cuts the lawn LOL, provided us a great room, accommodated our dog, and treated us like family! Helped us get home, TY Room Tip—They also have kitchenette rooms, fantastic view of the mountains, good restaurant View Full →Read more »

Read more »

generic-avatar

Wonderful Experience


Great hotel with comfortable bed and pillows. Clean room with small but useable kitchen. The view of the mountains from the room is fantastic. Close to small town with a few stores. Overall my experience was great. Owners are very helpful and nice. Don't miss stopping here for the night.



Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC
5.0
2015-02-25T00:20:54+00:00
generic-avatar

Great hotel with comfortable bed and pillows. Clean room with small but useable kitchen. The view of the mountains from the room is fantastic. Close to small town with a few stores. Overall my experience was great. Owners are very helpful and nice. Don’t miss stopping here for the night.Read more »

Read more »

Trip Advisor Reviewer, Robber's Roost Motel Hazelton BC

Hi Ho Silver

Good little motel with a funky name...stayed there with my wife and 4 kids during our travels through Utah and found the place surprisingly good. We were only there for one night, but the motel offered everything we needed for a one night stay. Staff is friendly, the place is clean, the plumbing worked great, the beds were comfortable enough and they even have fridges in the rooms.

For a motel this is definitely one of the best we have stayed at, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #20 beside the office....it was great.

little_CRO
Kitchener ON

Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC
4.0
2015-02-25T00:24:08+00:00

little_CRO
Kitchener ON

Trip Advisor Reviewer, Robber's Roost Motel Hazelton BC

Good little motel with a funky name…stayed there with my wife and 4 kids during our travels through Utah and found the place surprisingly good. We were only there for one night, but the motel offered everything we needed for a one night stay. Staff is friendly, the place is View Full →Read more »

Read more »

Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

Funny Name Great Place

On our 2nd drive to Alaska, we decided to take the Cassier Hwy instead of the Alcan. We actually went through New Hazelton and stopped for gas before heading north. We figured we would stop in the next 30 minutes or so for the night but the gas attendant told us it would be several hours so we back tracked to New Hazelton.

There are very few motels and the Name Robbers Roost made me hesitant. But it looked the nicest and cleanest so we went for it. During check in, I was talking with the owner who moved from Holland to this teeny spot in middle of nowhere and bought a motel. I asked why go from Holland to New Hazelton, that Holland was a beautiful place! He pointed out the windows to the mountains across the street and said 'that's why' It is a beautiful setting and he said Holland had millions of ppl and very crowded. No worries of crowds here.

Now for anyone not traveled through Canada or Alaska.... You can go forever without seeing another person. The motels are usually smaller, family owned and None have a/c. I know a lot of ppl don't need a/c, but I always feel stuffy without some air moving. They do all usually have an good fan and if you crack a window with the fan on, it was just right. In fact we ended up spending the entire summer without a/c on the side of a mountain under Birch and Aspen trees and never got too warm!

Room was clean, nothing fancy but wasn't expected in this type location. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. And the next day we counted 21 bear along the road so that with the scenery made a perfect day!
Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC
5.0
2015-02-25T00:28:40+00:00
Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

On our 2nd drive to Alaska, we decided to take the Cassier Hwy instead of the Alcan. We actually went through New Hazelton and stopped for gas before heading north. We figured we would stop in the next 30 minutes or so for the night but the gas attendant told View Full →Read more »

Read more »

Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

Friendly, good bed



Driving up the Alcan, one either camps or stays in whatever is available. It's great to find a place with good bed, showers with great water pressure and a small kitchenette. We were surprised to here this is their "high" season, and learned more about the fishing that draws a lot of people. Next time through, hopefully we'll have more time to explore the area. Walking distance for short hike to a falls and a large field available for pets or just playing catch...

Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC
4.0
2015-02-25T00:31:34+00:00
Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

Driving up the Alcan, one either camps or stays in whatever is available. It’s great to find a place with good bed, showers with great water pressure and a small kitchenette. We were surprised to here this is their “high” season, and learned more about the fishing that draws a View Full →Read more »

Read more »

Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

Clean but Crowded



New Hazelton was convient for our drive from the Alaska ferry terminal in Prince Rupert BC. Unfortunately our trip was in the summer, there is no air conditioning in the room, so the only way to get ventilation was to open a window. This resulted in outside noise coming in as well as some nasty insects. There is no dresser space in our room and the area to hang cloths is limited. We had to use our suit cases, which was also difficult due to extremely limited counter space. The positives for this place is helpful staff, a good and clean bathroom, and a reasonable price.

Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC
3.0
2015-02-25T00:35:47+00:00
Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

New Hazelton was convient for our drive from the Alaska ferry terminal in Prince Rupert BC. Unfortunately our trip was in the summer, there is no air conditioning in the room, so the only way to get ventilation was to open a window. This resulted in outside noise coming in View Full →Read more »

Read more »

Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

Nice Place to Stay


As a couple have stayed here on a few occasions also husband stays when in area on business. Not a fancy motel but clean, comfortable & owners friendly & accommodating. Good value.



barbes150
150 Mile House, B.C. Canada

Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC
4.0
2015-02-25T08:47:20+00:00

barbes150
150 Mile House, B.C. Canada

Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

As a couple have stayed here on a few occasions also husband stays when in area on business. Not a fancy motel but clean, comfortable & owners friendly & accommodating. Good value.Read more »

Read more »

Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

New Hazelton Visit—Times 2

We spent three days total the Robber's Roost. We got a kitchenette and had an expectation of getting something average given the relatively remote location and off-season.


Pete, the proprietor, was very friendly and accommodating. The room was above average and when we had a problem with a bath drain, Pete was all over it....had it fixed while we were out that day.

Great customer service attitude. The whole experience at this hotel was positive. Oh...the view from the bed out the window and even more so from the front walk area was spectacular - mountains and mountains and more mountains. We liked this place!!

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a kitchenette...we find it is the way to go.

CRod_USMC
Fulton, Maryland

Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC
5.0
2015-02-25T08:49:46+00:00

CRod_USMC
Fulton, Maryland

Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

We spent three days total the Robber’s Roost. We got a kitchenette and had an expectation of getting something average given the relatively remote location and off-season. Pete, the proprietor, was very friendly and accommodating. The room was above average and when we had a problem with a bath drain, View Full →Read more »

Read more »

Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

My Home While in Hazelton

I have stayed here a few times now, always on business, and always staying 10 - 14 nights. The owners are super, the motel is clean, and the showers are hot and have great water pressure. With a 2-burner hotplate/stove, sink, fridge, microwave and coffee maker, it makes up for the lack of restaurants. There are even barbeques outside that you can use (although it is now late October and the snow is beginning to fall).

The motel is set well back from the highway (just behind one of the Chinese restaurants), and has lovely views to the mountains. Free wifi is appreciated. Easy reach to Ksan Historical Village and Old Hazelton.

No reason to stay anywhere else, and I look forward to my next stay.

Photos (below) taken by Catsitter:

Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC
4.0
2015-02-25T09:06:35+00:00
Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

I have stayed here a few times now, always on business, and always staying 10 – 14 nights. The owners are super, the motel is clean, and the showers are hot and have great water pressure. With a 2-burner hotplate/stove, sink, fridge, microwave and coffee maker, it makes up for View Full →Read more »

Read more »

Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

Bear-Watching Opportunities!

Robber's Roost is a great place to stay overnight on your way (back) to Stewart & Hyder. Actually, it turned out to be a nice preparation for our bear-experience in Hyder, as there was a brown bear walking in the backyard of the motel. It seemed the people in New Hazelton are used to bears wandering through the village, but it was pretty exciting for us!

Anyway: New Hazelton is a very small 'middle of nowhere'-village with quite some abandoned shops and houses, but still there are few (Chinese!) restaurants, there is a supermarket and—important in this area—a gas station. Robber's Roost offers nice and clean rooms. Besides the usual furniture you expect in a motel like this, we had a microwave, fridge and coffee-machine. We had a good and quiet night sleep…

Overall: good value for money (which is important for Dutch visitors, obviously!)
Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC
4.0
2015-02-25T09:10:55+00:00
Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

Robber’s Roost is a great place to stay overnight on your way (back) to Stewart & Hyder. Actually, it turned out to be a nice preparation for our bear-experience in Hyder, as there was a brown bear walking in the backyard of the motel. It seemed the people in New View Full →Read more »

Read more »

Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

Our Choice of a Place to Stay in New Hazelton


We've stayed here a number of times over past few years, while on business and when visiting family in area, it is quite convenient. New owners just took over this month & seem very nice. We do wish them luck in this new business adventure. Rooms are clean & fairly spacious. Beds comfortable & linen clean, pillows a bit flat & not soft so could use updating in the future. Outside, stairs etc. have needed a bit of a facelift for some time now & hopefully something the new owners will tackle once they get settled and into making it their own. Bathrooms clean & there was lots of hot water for showers. Coffee maker in room and our room also had a small fridge which was handy. Will definitely continue to stay there on future trips to the area.



barbes150
150 Mile House, B.C. Canada

Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC
3.0
2015-02-25T06:44:56+00:00

barbes150
150 Mile House, B.C. Canada

Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

We’ve stayed here a number of times over past few years, while on business and when visiting family in area, it is quite convenient. New owners just took over this month & seem very nice. We do wish them luck in this new business adventure. Rooms are clean & fairly View Full →Read more »

Read more »

Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

Only Place to Stay


We stay at many mom and pop motels all across canada while working on the railway and this is one of the best we stayed at. we work nights and pete the owner comes and cleaned our room while at work. you dont get the services at most motels. the rooms are very clean and cosy plenty of bbqs and the restaurant is open out front of the motel I would highly recommend this motel. the view is beaytiful



MIKE B
SHANLY ONT CANADA

Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC
5.0
2015-02-25T08:52:26+00:00

MIKE B
SHANLY ONT CANADA

Trip Advisor Review, Robber's Roost Motel, New Hazelton BC

We stay at many mom and pop motels all across canada while working on the railway and this is one of the best we stayed at. we work nights and pete the owner comes and cleaned our room while at work. you dont get the services at most motels. the View Full →Read more »

Read more »

4.0
12